Arrangements for the city's elections are contained in Article III of the City Charter and in Title I, Chapter 17 of the Municipal Code.

Voter Information

In accordance with state municipal election statutes, only citizens who have resided within the city limits for at least 22 days before the election are eligible to vote.

Voter registration information is available online from the Colorado Secretary of State website or from the Montrose County Clerk and Recorder's Office.

Candidate Requirements and Information

Candidates must be qualified (registered) electors, 18 years of age older, who have resided within the City and the district that they are seeking to represent for at least 12 consecutive months immediately preceding the date of the election. Candidates for the At Large seat can reside anywhere in the city but must meet the minimum residency requirement.

In 2014, voters adopted revisions to the City Charter that require City Council candidates to be clear of felony convictions.

The District Map provides detailed information about the district boundaries. Eligible voters may cast votes for candidates in each district, regardless of where they reside in the City. View required candidate filings in the Document Center.

2022  Election

On April 5, 2022, the City of Montrose conducted a Regular General Election for city voters to decide who will lead Montrose into the future.

With the midterm appointments of council members in the District II and District III seats earlier in 2021, the 2022 election created an unusual situation in which four of the five City Council seats (Districts I, II, III, and At-Large) were up for election.

Terms are four years for the District I & II seats, two years for the District III seat (due to a midterm appointment), and two years for the At Large seat.

The election results are as follows:

District I

  • Doug Glaspell - 2,069
  • Paul Arbogast - 1,381
  • Total votes cast: 3,450

District II

  • Anthony Russo - 1,384
  • Ed Ulibarri - 2,102
  • Total votes cast: 3,486

District III

  • J. David Reed (unopposed) - 2,616
  • Total votes cast: 2,616

At Large

  • Barbara Bynum (unopposed) - 2,575
  • Total votes cast: 2,575

History of Election Participation Since 2000


  • Ballots Mailed: 13,674
  • Ballots Received: 3,579
  • Percent Returned: 26.17


  • Ballots Mailed: 12,204
  • Ballots Received: 5,007
  • Percent Returned: 41.0


  • Ballots Mailed: 11,321
  • Ballots Received: 3,162
  • Percent Returned: 27.93


  • Ballots Mailed: 10,300
  • Ballots Received: 3,254
  • Percent Returned: 31.59


  • Ballots Mailed: 10,252
  • Ballots Received: 5,804
  • Percent Returned: 56.61


  • Ballots Mailed: 8,257
  • Ballots Received: 5,383
  • Percent Returned: 65.19

2010 - 33.0 return rate
2008 - 37.03% return rate
2006 - 29.0% return rate
2004 - 28.50% return rate
2002 - 41.0% return rate
2000 - 43.0% return rate

  1. City Clerk


    400 E Main Street
    P.O. Box 790
    Montrose, CO 81402

    Phone: 970-240-1430


    Monday - Thursday
    7 a.m. - 6 p.m.

Key City Documents for Candidates

Updated Council Districts Map

As required by the City Charter, the City Council has adjusted the district boundaries to equalize populations within each district based on the 2020 Census results. View the Council Districts map

Related Pages